So after I'd gotten the job and worked for a few weeks, GIG season seemed to be upon me.
I'd bought a ticket to see the Veronica's before christmas as a Christmas present (THANK YOU MUM & DAD). I had to see them mainly due to the annoyance of missing them last time.
- they played a ONE-OFF gig in London.... which day did they pick? MY BIRTHDAY!!!!
- when I was already going to see Girls Aloud in Brighton. - all the best things happen on June 1st clearly! (was invited to some private steps thing another year when i already had plans!)
As a special treat, I'd gotten a 'V TICKET' which meant I got to go to an acoustic gig before the main gig and a signed picture etc etc - So I went along and it was cool to have them playing for just us, about 50 people... but they played one of their songs and a cover (Jonas Brothers - Burnin' Up) and took some questions from the audience.... and that was it!? hmmm not sure that was worth the extra money!!! oh well.

Here's a video I just uploaded of the Jonas Brothers cover.
So I went back to Sarahs for a bit and had some Passion Pop (cheap fizzy alcohol) and feeling slightly tipsy i made it back to the venue. - I'd not missed them, this band called 'Metro Station' were still playing.
The lead guitarist and 'other' singer was the brother of famous teen idiot Miley Cyrus (spawn of Billy Ray) Now I'm not being mean, but this guy is really not a pretty face... but he was acting like all the girls love him and taking his shirt off!? (yuk) cue much screaming from the mainly teenage girl audience. - about ten seconds of that was enough to make me venture up to the bar for another drink. hehe

When I got there it was quite deserted.... clearly people actually wanted to see this idiot? - I was chatting away with the bar staff who equally hate this complete twat on stage after having to listen to it 3 times already! - When I ordered my drink (double vodka raspberry and lemonade) she poured out 2. - I protested that i'd only ordered 1 but she winked and said "oh well".
BRILLIANT!!! haaa. So I was a little bit too drunkenly for the gig really, but it's all good enjoyed it immensely and got some really crackin' photos see below. The girls were spot on as always
and funny throughout. I might try to upload one of my videos from it and put it on here.... see how that works but in the meantime here are the best photos.







##########################################
Next up a few weeks later, was time for the Tina Arena concert.
I wasn't sure whether to go to this gig or not, as I'd seen Tina already in London
- Shepherds Bush about 6 years ago... plus her last 2 albums have been
"songs of love and loss - vol. 1 & 2" - which have all been covers....
....good covers....but still covers... so havent been totally impressed with them really.
But as it was literally just down the road, and Tina does actually live in London, I thought
I should really go to see her seeing as she's come all this way to see me haha.
It was quite pricey really... i think it was over $100.... which is about £50 but it was already
an expensive weekend because of the Mardi Gras tickets ($120 each)..... so thought that I may
as well spend even more (yeh i know.....excuses....but how often could i say I saw one of my idols in concert IN AUSTRALIA!!)
As I had the night off work, I went out with Sarah for dinner before it and had
a really nice and quite cheap italian meal with nice wine. On the way there, still a bit tipsy on the wine i walked to some traffic lights. While waiting for the bleepy green man (very bleepy over here) I noticed this tall guy across the road all dressed in black, with sunglasses and a hood over his head. He was about 7.5 foot tall and towered over everyone around him. I turned to the guy next to me and said "don't look now, the grim reaper is coming for us".
The guy seemed to find this very funny and we were chatting as we walked. He then asked what I was up to that evening.....
I didn't really want to say "seeing Tina Arena" so I said "oh going to Sydney State Theatre?".
his response was "Oh my god... to see Tina Arena? ME TOO"
haha how random.
Anyway, he said that he knew where to meet her after the show, i.e. at the stage door,
so we agreed to meet up and go to the stage door afterwards. Must have been fate, as I was thinking a few months earlier that it would be a dream to meet Tina Arena - my favourite female vocalist. Anyway, unfortunately in the Sydney State, photography is completely banned due to the age of the theatre, so I couldnt get any pictures of the gig. Tina however was hilarious as usual and spot on vocally. There was many times when she'd converse with the crowd and heckle back and forth, all in good aussie humour of course.
After the gig me and Marc (the guy) literally ran down the street to the stage door and managed to be the first few there! - after a while a crowd inevitably formed. The assistant came out and announced that they're having a party and she could be up to an hour. We decided to wait anyway and just stood around chatting - after about 20 minutes people started cheering. I looked round as if to say "what?"
I did not even SEE Tina come out... she's so tiny and to be honest, hasn't really aged that well. She also seemed very thin and frail. Anyway, after a few people it was my turn to meet her.
What a lovely lady, we chatted for ages about london, saying i'd seen her at Shepherds bush and also the state of the charts over there etc etc - she was actually signing other peoples stuff whilst still chatting away to me :) Got a few photos with her as well, which is such a treasured thing :)
I managed to tell her she's amazing as well, which was kind of a mission for me haha. Here are a few of the pictures.


I'll do Mardi Gras in a different post (not that it'll be that long.....oops)

No comments:
Post a Comment